Information


202 Park Street

P.O. Box 48
Bishop Hill, IL 61419
 
 

Museum Times


Open 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. daily
from May 1st to October 31st

 

HHC Map

Discover the rest of the story at the


Henry County Historical Museum

HenryCountyMuseum
Visitors to the beautiful, historic Bishop Hill Colony are sure to find a veritable treasutre trove of history and memories as they explore the museums, shops, and well-preserved and restored buildings that line the village.  Bishop Hil was founded in 1846 by religious dissidents who emigrated from Sweden to establish a new way of life on the Illinois prairie.

There’s even more to discover and enjoy at the Henry County Historical Museum.  The Museum is located at 202 S. Park St. in Bishop Hill.

The Museum explores the rich history of the entire area and maintains unique artifacts and materials pertaining to all of Henry County.  The county was founded in 1826, just eight years after Illinois achieved statehood.

The museum, which is located in the former Bishop Hill Elementary School just west of the village water tower, features five main rooms housing its permanent collection.  Included are a doctor and dentist’s office, a major antique bottle collection, a period kitchen and a 19th century bedroom, a military collection including uniforms, vintage posters and military firearms, a one-room school, general store, carpenter shop, blacksmith shop and a harness shop.  Other exhibits feature vintage farm items and equipment, including a windmill, a horse-drawn two-row corn cultivator, a restored steam engine, a John Deere horse-drawn sickle mower, an historic barbed wire display, butter churns and many other samples of rare and interesting farm memorabilia.  In addition, the museum houses an invaluable collection of archival books, records, and documents that are available for research by visitors.